什么是骨移植?

骨移植实践不是什么新鲜事. 事实上, 它回到数百年时间荷兰医生狗骨注入受伤的士兵头骨. 名士兵后来想删除它,但它不能删除, 因为它在如此紧密相连的骨. 这就引出了我们听到我们实践中非常常见的问题: 骨移植是什么做的?

Whats In a Bone Graft

荷兰医生不知道的是,植入的骨,可能是由病人的身体吸收,代之以他天然骨. 这个自然的过程被称为"引导骨再生", 它是其中一个原因,植骨曾那么随着时间的推移!

自然, 患者都关心他们的骨移植材料来自哪里. 但在所有情况下, 我们强调我们植入的材料不是最终的材料,你会有在. 骨移植材料是真的只是一个占位符, 它鼓励 (和傻瓜) 你的身体产生更多的骨在该网站中, 在过程中人类我们已植入材料.

这里有一些常见的骨移植来源:

  • 头骨, 臀部, 较低的腿骨头都非常有效和共同捐助网站.
  • 组织银行可能使用时需要更多的骨.
  • 刨花: 如果我们钻入你的下巴, 自然会在过程中产生的屑, 并且他们经常作出理想的骨移植材料!
  • 人工骨移植材料.

它是组织的自然要关心哪种类型也被植入你的身体! 请不要犹豫来问我们关于这或其他你即将到来的程序问题.

关闭评论.

What’s In a Bone Graft?

The practice of bone grafting is nothing new. In fact, it goes back hundred of years to a time when a Dutch doctor implanted a dog’s bone into an injured soldier’s skull. The soldier later wanted it removed but it could not be removed, as it had bonded so closely to the bone. This brings up a very common question that we hear in our practice: What is a bone graft made of?

Whats In a Bone Graft

What the Dutch doctor didn’t know was that the implanted bone was likely resorbed by the patient’s body and replaced with his natural bone. This natural process is called “guided bone regeneration”, and it is one of the reasons that bone grafting has worked so well over time!

Naturally, patients are concerned about where their bone grafting material has come from. But in all cases, we stress that the material that we implant is not the final material that you will have in there. Bone grafting material is really just a place-holder, it encourages (and fools) your body into producing more bone in that site, and in the process resorbs the material that we have implanted.

Here are some common sources for bone grafts:

  • The skull, hip, and lower leg bones are very effective and common donor sites.
  • Tissue banks may be used when more bone is needed.
  • Shavings: If we drill into your jaw, naturally there will be shavings that are produced during the procedure, and often they make ideal bone grafting material!
  • Synthetic bone grafting materials.

It is natural to be concerned about what type of tissue we are implanting into your body! Please don’t hesitate to ask us questions about this or your other upcoming procedures.

Comments are closed.